Naturally Curly

This morning Andrea sent me the link to an article from the NY Times called       InDefense of Curly Hair: Making Waves with No Apology by Judith Newman. By 8:15 a.m., I was ready for a debate with anyone who was going to tell me that my hair was not acceptable in today’s society.

I think this article makes some really good points. There is definitely a racist connotation to curly hair. People who knew Sally Hemings described her as having straight hair (which meant she wasn’t that black). Chris Rock’s movie, Good Hair, explores why black women spend millions of dollars on fake straight hair. Are they trying to look white?

An anonymous relative once told me it was OK for a man to have curly hair, but it was NOT OK for a woman to have curly hair. Because I am a woman, I should straighten my hair so that I can be attractive to a man. Well, unfortunately dear anonymous relative, I was born with curly hair, so I’m going to rock it (aka make it work, to quote Tim Gunn). Straightening my hair would be akin to amputating my arm.

Would the Millionaire Matchmaker say that the reason I have yet to have a successful relationship with a dude is because I don’t straighten my hair? I think this woman has some smart advice on her bizarre show, but telling women with curly hair to straighten it before going on a date with her millionaire client is just rude and stupid. Basically, she wants to present the “perfect” woman sans curls to a man and pray there isn’t humidity and/or any sort of precipitation on their date and potential relationship. I choose to say, daily, with my lack of flat iron, “This is who I am. Take it or leave it.”

5 thoughts on “Naturally Curly

  1. Amen to that! You are totally rockin’ the curly hair and any man who is going to be scared off by curly hair . . . you know the rest!

    Thank you for an awesomely good knitting afternoon!

  2. I would love for my little bit wavy hair to be curly. Unfortunately, curls skipped a generation from my mom to my son. I tell him that his hair is wasted on a male. Rock the curls for all you can and know that there are lots of women out there who envy you.

  3. I’m one of those people who always wished she had curly hair! Used to sleep with rollers during 2nd grade (what a nut I was!) You look lovely and it’s part of your personality. The Millionaire Matchmakers sounds like she’s lost touch with reality. You want someone to appreciate you for who you are! Not for trying to approximate some racist, sexist, classist ‘ideal’ that suggests you are inferior. Because you’re not! You’re full of energy, smart, pretty, funny, musical, ambitious, responsible, and creative. I know it’s not a good idea to let out all the crazy on the first date, but straightening your hair and canceling the date if it’s humid?? That’s insane.

  4. Amen! Just found your blog and love it. I, too, have curls and I just make them work. I have had my curls blown out straight once or twice and while it looked OK, straight hair is just not me. I love my curls!

Leave a Reply

