Ysolda’s new book

On Saturday, as I was heading out the door to keep T company (MRI shows two bulged discs), the mailman pulled up and I knew what he had…Little Red in the City.

I actually told the mailman how excited I was to look through this book. I knew it was 274 pages long (which is reheeheeheeally long for a knitting book) and I love books that you can’t look through in one sitting. Some books are like “wow, awesome, I just spend $20 on this and I’m not interested anymore”. This book is like “wow, interesting, didn’t think of that before but now I’m going to think of it often, as in while driving or walking Gansey or on long runs.” Oddly enough, I tend to think of spinning wheel mechanics while running. As I pass old houses I wonder if there are old wheels in the attics or garages.

So far, my favorite part of this book is the design story that comes with each pattern. I’m interested in design, but I have no idea if I would be good at it or not. It takes a lot of focus and a lot of math, and I’m good at one of those things generally. Can you guess which one? Adult onset ADD much, E?

I’m not totally in love with any of the patterns in this book, but I am in love with the shaping of sweaters in general. I need some serious darts in certain places (like most of us) but the thought of adding a dart to a sweater without knowing it will work out is scary. So, we all tend to just trust a pattern and end up with boxy cabled sweaters or

The premise of this book is to teach how to fit your knits to your own body. I like this sweater, Cria, because of the sleeves, the pockets, and the length but I am unsure how the garter/stockinette transition would work above the bust.

It’s basically a pretty plain cardi but the small details make it really classy I think. Also, a good garment to practice some shaping on.

So, now I’m wondering if I should start an Ysolda sweater in Maine and work on short row shaping. On Peaks, I at least have the time to attempt to focus when at home, I am constantly working or walking Ganz or worrying about work or planning a work out or…

Leave a Reply

