Crafty time vs. Any other time of day

I am prepping for a 10K which has meant lots of running/swimming/occasional biking. This has meant that my knitting/crochet/spinning time has taken a hit. Therefore, I have decided to prioritize my crafty time because really, it is necessary for me to be happy.

Right now I am working on two things:

Hooray (but hopefully without cables)

And a garland pansy doily for a work friend

I am really looking forward to Maryland Sheep and Wool in a month. I am waiting for SOAR to post their classes (hopefully soon!), and I’m looking at spinning wheels on craigslist, as usual.

I have been thinking about a few things and I would love if you commented to help me understand these things…

Are knitters thought of as lazy in our society?

4 thoughts on “Crafty time vs. Any other time of day

  1. As a classic Type A, I cannot sit still. If I am sitting, I am reading or doing handwork, which is usually knitting or knitting-related. No one has ever dared call me lazy! Perhaps they just hope to be the recipient of something I make, or perhaps they just fear me, but no one calls me lazy!

  2. I think many times knitting in public is perceived as unprofessional — I know that people (typically women) who knit at meetings, conferences, lectures, classes, are sometimes perceived by others as unfocused, not engaged with the meeting, not serious, etc., because they are doing a craft while everyone else is quietly paying attention to the meeting. (The idea that everyone else is paying attention is not true — most people these days play with their phones constantly, doodle, daydream). Anyway, I think that knitting in this situation brings up negative stereotypes of women and handicrafts, and old-fashioned doubts about women’s ability to be professionals. Maybe to some people, bringing knitting to professional places might almost be comparable to bringing your laundry to fold at a meeting.

    Obviously I don’t agree with this perception, and I think that knitting can actually HELP me focus on lectures because I’m not tempted to check email or daydream, and am keeping my hands busy and not falling asleep. But this is not how it appears to others. It appears like you are not a true adult professional, like you’re just at that meeting for fun, not because you’re at work.

    The really difficult thing for me personally is that despite the fact that I would love to knit at meetings etc., when I see students knitting in my classes or my colleagues knitting at professional lectures, sometimes I find myself disapproving of their behavior and wanting to police them! Sexism is sinister that way, and women often police each other.

Leave a Reply

